National Trust Properties in Northumberland
House, Gardens & Estate
The National Trust property Cragside House was formerly the home
of the famous inventor Lord
William Armstrong 1810-1900 (of Vickers-Armstrong fame). In 1878
Cragside was the first house in the world to be lit by hydro-electricity,
powered by generators on the estate. The House is magnificent and beautiful,
with a lived-in atmosphere, and is well worth a visit.
The beautiful grounds and gardens around Cragside form a 1000-acre
estate with over 40 miles of paths and roadway, lakes and streams, and
boasts some of England's tallest trees. The scenery is ever changing and
See the website for further info. on this wonderful estate.
This massive ruined castle in an impressive coastal setting is a magnificent
ruin dominating a lonely stretch of Northumberland's beautiful coastline,
Dunstanburgh must be reached on foot along paths following the rocky shore.
15 - 20 minutes drive from Cragside you can visit Wallington Hall. It
boasts' a superb collection of dolls' houses. The house stands
on the remnants of a former castle, the cellars of which are incorporated
into the existing house.
Wallington was last owned by the Trevelyan family and was left to the
National Trust by Sir Charles Philips Trevelyan for the nation to enjoy.
The house is beautiful, and well furnished, with superb murals in the
central hall. A walled garden half a mile from the house is well worth
the walk, passing a picturesque lake and tree lined walkways.
Opening times! See the Visitor Information website.
This romantic 16th-century miniature castle on Holy Island was transformed
by Lutyens into an Edwardian country house. Perched atop a rocky crag
and accessible over a causeway at low tide only, the castle presents an
exciting and alluring aspect. Originally a Tudor fort, it was converted
into a private house in 1903 by the young Edwin Lutyens. The small rooms
are full of intimate decoration and design, with windows looking down
upon the charming walled garden planned by Gertrude Jekyll.
Note: Holy Island can only be reached by vehicle or on foot via a
3mile causeway, which is closed from 2 hours before high tide until 3 hours
after. See Safe
Off the coast from Bamburgh
One of Europe's most important seabird sanctuaries, the islands are home
to more than 20 different species, including puffins, eider ducks and
four species of tern. Many of the birds are extremely confiding and visitors
can enjoy close views. There is also a large colony of seals. St Cuthbert
died on Inner Farne in 687 and the chapel built in his memory can be visited.
Wall & Housesteads Fort
One of Rome's most northerly outposts, the Wall was built around AD 122
when the Roman Empire was at its height. It remains one of Britain's most
impressive ruins. Housesteads Fort, one of sixteen permanent bases along
the Wall, is one of the best-preserved and conjures an evocative picture
of Roman military life.
The Trust owns approx. 6 miles of the Wall, running west from Housesteads
Fort to Cawfields Quarry, and over 1000ha (2471 acres) of farmland. Access
to the Wall and the public rights of way is from car parks operated by
the Northumberland National Park Authority at Housesteads, Steel Rigg
and Cawfields. Housesteads Fort is owned by the National Trust, and maintained
and managed by English Heritage.
Birthplace of the world famous railway engineer, this small stone tenement
was built c.1760 to accommodate mining families. The furnishings reflect
the year of Stephenson's birth here (1781), his whole family living in
the one room.
Allen Banks & Staward Gorge
This wooded ravine of the River Allen is an extensive area of hill and
river scenery with many miles of waymarked walks through ornamental and
ancient woodland. On a high promontory within Staward Wood are the remains
of a medieval pele tower.
Thomas Bewick (1753-1828), Northumberland's greatest artist, wood-engraver
and naturalist, was born in the cottage here. The nearby 19th-century
farmhouse, the later home of the Bewick family, houses an exhibition on
Bewick's life and work and a small shop selling books, gifts and prints
from his original wood engravings. Wood engraving and printing demonstrations
take place in the adjoining barn. There are splendid views over the Tyne
valley. The south bank of the River Tyne, where Bewick spent much of his
childhood, is a short walk away.